Just a little bummed

Some people reading this (once I have published and shared this) may feel the way I do. Maybe I am over-reacting a little. But I am trying to deal with a loss of something that has had a major impact on my life for a few years now.

So let me start with the back story.

Not long after my eldest was born, I joined a website found on the back of a Heinz rice cereal packet. Being my first baby, and the only one in my circle of friends to have a child, I was interested in all the information provided on the website, ranging from development, to tips on feeding. While there, I stumbled across a little community in the forum.

I was a quiet beginning, but being the pushy busy-body that I am, I quickly worked my way into the thick of it. I was sharing the milestones made by my eldest, and soon, the joys (and not so crash hot parts) of being pregnant with my second child.

After a while, for whatever reason, the forum admin decided to shut the forum and reopen it on a different platform. So many of us made the jump on to the new website, and continued to share in each others ups and downs, by this stage, we were starting to share everything, not just parenting skills. We enjoyed the features the new website provided such a sharing photos, little smiley faces, the little sort of things to help us express our personalities.

Time went on, and again, for reasons unknown, Heinz admin decided to shut down the forum for good. Friendships were thick and we couldn’t bear the thought of not having each other to turn to, so a few members started up another website for us all to go to once the orignal one had closed.

Again, we all made the jump (of course, it didn’t happen without a few dramas, mainly due to one person who will remained unnamed, but some readers will giggle and know who I’m talking about!)

Once the platform provider asked us to start paying for our use, we created yet another website, and made the jump again. So you are starting to get the idea of how close we are.



These gorgeous, hilarious, and compassionate women have helped me through so much over the past  five years. They laughed along with all the funny things my kids got up to, gave great advice on things from cooking to relationships and health for both ourselves and our children. We do a christmas card list and secret santa (though its pretty obvious when the gift is from me. Since I am the only one in Western Australia. They just have to look at from where it was sent, and they know!) Gifts get sent to those who have just had a child, or if there is a significant birthday looming.

My only disappointment is that being the only one in Western Australia, everyone else is miles away and I can’t meet up with these ladies, for example, go out for coffee like some of them regularly do, or organise play dates for our children. But despite the distance, they have supported me greatly, especially so after the young one was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis. The morning after he was flown to hospital, I sent a text message to a couple of the ladies and asked them to tell everyone the bad news. Everyone felt the shock and shared the pain of his diagnosis. So, to show their support, they rallied together and sent a gift basket to the hospital, complete with flowers, a teddy for the boy, and some much-needed chocolate! I cried when it arrived! I was so touched by their thoughts.

But I have been walking around my house, moping a little. You see, we recently had a bit of drama on the website, and some members left. I guess you can’t expect everyone to like each other, but now that we have a private group on Facebook, and most prefer the features on there,  and the website is being shut down.

While I’m not losing contact with any of these ladies (well, I hope not anyway!), and I am still talking to many of them on a daily basis, but I feel like I have lost one of my best friends. We all helped to build the website. A big part of me went into it. It was like a child. We all helped to nurture it and help it grow, become something magnificent.

I don’t know why I feel this way over a website. Its stupid really. But I cant help but feel that I somehow let the site down by not maintaining input. I feel like I have let my friends down.

But I am so grateful for the friendship and support from these wonderful ladies. I am glad we can still keep in contact once the forum is gone for good.

Dont worry, I will get over my mopey-ness.

Bella 🙂

8 thoughts on “Just a little bummed

  1. Oh Bella. We love you…….. well, i do anyway. i havent been into the other forum(is spruz closing) for a while,and didnt realise it was getting closed down. at least we have each other on fb.

    • it was only decided in the last day or two that it will be closing down 😦 This is just a weird emotion Im having…im extremelly glad we still have eachother and can maintain contact

  2. Aww Bella, now I feel bad too, I admit I have boycotted the website wince it made it’s last jump, and mainly because most of you girls can now be found so readily on facebook… and I have such limited time to spend mucking about on websites these days…

    It is sad that it has all gone… but it’s only the website that has gone… we are all still together (with the exception of one or two, who we may be able to lure to the darkside with love letters, treats and promises we don’t intend to keep :P)

    No silly website closure will break the bond that we have made, even I, who have been on our facebook page so rarely still get a beautiful feeling of togetherness whenever I decide to poke my head in the door to FM…

    We are all mummies, but aside from that, we are friends…. and we have already proven that our core group has been through too much to just let it fade away!

  3. Oh Bella I completely agree, I have felt similarly that I have failed the girls who cannot be part of the FB group for one reason or another … by the site closing down have we taken away their chance to bond, cry, laugh and enjoy the treacherous waters of motherhood? I hope to keep in contact with the girls of course, but yes, just not the same without them :S

  4. Oh bella you’ve made me sad thinking about all of the stuff that’s gone on in our lives with our group! Thanks for being there you are a really great friend and wonderful mum!
    You have helped me see the good sides of life, you have made me cry and laugh all at the same time. thanks sooo much

  5. Oh, Bel. 😦
    I love you! Like Lis said, it’s only the website that’s going. I think we’ll be ‘together’ in some way for a loooooooooooong time to come.
    Xxx

  6. Well I’m glad it’s not just me feeling quite a bit down (especially today, it’s really hit me and sunk in) – yes it’s just a website but it’s the group of people I have spent the better part of six years chatting to – sharing stories, being silly, asking and offering advice, sharing what goes in just in a regular day – I joined when Charlie was a baby!! Your post has made me cry Bella, I feel slightly ridiculous but probably what I needed to do so thankyou!

  7. We will always have the memories Bel!! I will cherish them forever, because those 5 or 6 years that I have gotten to know everyone have been some of the happiest years of my life.

    I understand how you and everyone else feels. I try to think though that it is just a website and that we will all hold on to our friendships one way or another.

    The friendships that I have gained from the various forms of the forum will always be treasured and I thank each and every one of you for your advice, your laughter, the ups and the downs even, it has made my life richer.

    So chin up Bel 🙂 We will always be here for you 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

