Sausages for 65 Roses

I know this post is a little late, as 65 Roses Day was on the 27th May, but the last few weeks have busy really busy as hubby has still been off work and kids have been sick on-and-off.

As you know, my parent’s store was holding a sausage sizzle to raise money for CFWA. We had some sausages donated from a local butcher, and some bread donated from a local bakery. My co-worker donated some sauce, my grandparents donated some onions (and did that dastardly task of cutting them!) and my parents donated some soft drinks.

All in all…the sausage sizzle was a dismal failure! We only sold about seventy of the two hundred sausages! We realised that it wasnt the greatest of locations, nor was it the most ideal day. But it was our first attempt at fundraising and have learnt how to do things differently next year.

Our biggest saviour was the raffle we also held. For two weeks I bugged local businesses for product donations to use as prizes. The response to this was amazing and we had almost $500 worth of prizes! First prize alone would have been worth $250-$300.

We also held a colouring competition for kids. There weren’t many entrants, a huge bulk of those were from my children’s daycare, who were also very supportive of the day. My daughter won second prize, a $10 voucher to a local store which sell all sorts of goodies. I know she will head straight to the toy aisle though! It was picked anonymously, so, no…it wasn’t rigged!

We also had a couple bouquets of roses donated from a local florist, which sold like hotcakes! They were beautiful though and I wanted to keep them instead of putting them in the sale!

My parent’s also had 5% of sales on the day go towards the funds.

So all up, between the sausage sizzle, flowers, raffle, cash and online donations, plus store sales, we made around $1100!!! How amazing!!

Let’s break our record next year!

I met quite a few of the local CF community, which is great. I have heard a lot of inspirational stories!

Dont forget to support Sacha in her City to Surf fundraising run. I met her mum through our fundraising appeal. Their adult son/brother has CF and has amazingly never been hospitalised!!!

Thanks to everyone who got involved on the day, and thank you to the family and friends who came out  to support and help our appeal!

Bella 🙂

Leave a Reply

