Bright Futures

Recently, my children were sitting at the dinner table, discussing what they wanted to be when they grow up. They have made their decisions, and they are actually pretty reasonable (no princesses or wizards!)

Army cadets give teens a taste of army life

My eldest son (7.5 yrs) wants to join the army. He has been adamant about this career path since my husband joined the Army Reserves last year. He idolizes his father and his eyes lights up every time he sees my husband in his uniform.

Despite his development delay, I think the army, or even the army cadets, would be good for him and he would really enjoy the routine and regiment.

Downside is that he has very sensitive hearing and freaks out over loud noises. But that might be something he can overcome as he gets older.

 

 

 

Pilot or Flight Attendant?

My daughter (6 yrs) said  that she would like to work on airplanes. I don’t know if this means if she would like to be a pilot or a flight attendant.

While it would still be cool if she was a pilot, I see her more in an attendant role. She has a very caring and helpful nature.She would love being able to take care of people, and the added bonus of seeing new parts of the world.

Family members have often commented that due to her caring personality, they could see her in a job like nursing, where she could help people. So when she came out with this career choice, I wasnt terribly surprised, but quite happy as I know it would be something she would enjoy as she occasionally freaks out over hospital situations (especially with my youngest son and his CF treatments) which can cause her to get very emotional (but can you blame her?)

 

 

Design houses, or build them?

My middle son (5 yrs) announced that he would like to make houses.

This did not come as a surprise, at all! I have been saying since he was about two years old that he would be a builder or an architect as he was always make giant castles and houses out of lego and/or blocks.

Now he has taken to drawing a lot too, and houses are becoming a regular thing drawn.

I’m not if this will mean that he will design houses, or become a tradesman to build them. Either way, he is very particular about his buildings, so you know that you would be getting a sound house!

 

 

This is an example of the future images you will probably see of my son!

My youngest son (3.5yrs) popped out that he would like to fix cars.

Well what a shock that was!! NOT!

He is an absolute rev-head. He likes all machines that “go fast” (mostly cars and motorbikes), always has a toy car in his hand, and there are some major tantrums when we have to pull him away from my husband’s customized car (which is bright yellow, massive wing, supercharged…rev-head’s galore!)

He even has the trademark bum-crack thing happening already!!

Considering his CF, I think that this is also a good career to get into (considering his health and the amount of time taken off for treatments)

 

So all of my children have picked fairly reasonable and respectable career paths. Of course, they are still young and their employment dreams will probably change a dozen times before they have to even consider their employment opportunities. But right now, their decisions are fairly characteristic of their personalities.

The kids even told my husband and I what we should have been. My husband should have been a vet, which is probably true…he is a sucker for animals! Apparently though, I should have been….wait for it….a ballerina! Let’s just overlook the fact that I am the size of at least 4 ballerinas moulded together, and the fact that I have no dance experience at all…though after a few wines, I can convince myself that I am so good, I need to audition for “Dancing with the Stars”….hmm…maybe they have seen me get my groove on to the music while doing housework, and that’s where they got the idea from? Think I will just stick with our cleaning business for now!

What do your children want to be, or judged on their current personalities, what do you think they will be when they grow up?

Bella 🙂

Leave a Reply

