Outlets (with a guest’s poem)

When dealing with grief or highly stressful situations, it is important to find a healthy outlet for your emotions.

People quite often ask me how I cope with everything. They think I am joking when I say “Copious amounts of coffee and wine gets me through the day!”
As they laugh at my joke, little do they know that there is an element of truth (in moderation of course…well…maybe not with coffee!)

Writing is my biggest tool for processing my thoughts and emotions, hence why you sometimes see some mindless dribble on my blog. I find my blog satisfying as I get to pour out everything my family is going through, and I can easily look back and see what we have gone through and how far we have come (or not) in the process. But the biggest thing about my blog is the understanding that my words may help, even just one person with their own crisis, then my blog has done its job (and I really do hope it is helping some of you, even if it just for awareness!)

I know a lot of people who have used writing to help them process, even with their grief, and this is where I would like to introduce my guest blogger, Kathleen Mullaly.
Kathleen is not only one of my clients (a brilliant one who keeps me well topped up on great coffee and conversation) but she is also a friend. Her story is one of heartbreak. When she was quite young (maybe around seven years old?), she was in a devastating car accident that took the lives of both her parents.

We all know that teen years can be difficult anyway, but the loss of both parents must have made it even harder for Kathleen, so she turned to poetry to release those emotions.

She recently gave me a file of her poetry from those years to have a read, and I stumbled across an ode to her father, with whom she was quite close. It touched me and she very generously gave me permission to publish it. (I have chosen not to publish the family photo that accompanied it, but it was very cute!)

I haven’t lost my father, but if you have, I hope Kathleen’s words touch you too!
Bella 🙂

father and daughter at sunset

 

 

“Once Proud”

You were once proud of me,

I was your little girl.

I looked up to you – Dad.

Your happy face, I’ll treasure.

Our time together was short – too short,

But every moment was special.

I was your little girl.

You were so proud of me.

Would you be now I’ve all grown up?
It breaks my heart thinking of you.

I’ll never forget you.
We had a special bond that I’ll carry.

You have taken half of me with you,

and left half of yourself here with me.

I love you so much and miss you

more than word could ever say

Love you always Dad.

By Kathleen Mullaly

Leave a Reply

