Heels are optional

It is nice to pamper yourself every now and then. As I type this, it is a Saturday night, kids are in bed (hopefully sleeping), with a glass of wine in hand.

I have also straightened my hair, donned makeup and put on a pretty dress!

It is something I like to do regularly…even if I am just at home and my husband is the only one to see it. But it isn’t for him, it’s for me.

As a busy mum, I very rarely get a chance to go out, let alone dress up to the nines in the process. For as long as I can remember, I have enjoyed dressing up, styling my hair and applying makeup in the privacy of my home. Maybe it stems back to that little girl in all of us who used to play dress ups…maybe I never really grew out of it.

In the words of Christina: "I am beautiful, in every single way!"

In the words of Christina: “I am beautiful, in every single way!”

But for me, it gives me a chance to feel pretty, pamper myself and generally feel good about myself.

I was talking about it recently with some of the carers at daycare, and I admitted my weekend indulgence, while they laughed, they actually admitted (especially the ones who are mothers themselves) that it is a good thing to do.

So, go ahead… spice it up, spritz that perfume….make yourself feel good and boost your self-confidence, for no one elses benefit but your own!

 

Bella 🙂

Leave a Reply

